Who we are

JONAS – Joint Research Network on Advanced Materials and Systems

The JONAS Research Network consists of four European partners: I.S.I.S. Institute at Strasbourg University, Freiburg University, and ETH Zurich as academic partners, and BASF SE as industrial partner.

The close collaboration of three leading European universities with BASF as industrial partner enables the JONAS network to extend the scientific basis and their understanding of future materials and systems.

Interested scientists thus have the opportunity to conduct research into highly relevant areas, working in research teams from top universities, and at the same time participate in industry-relevant research together with BASF.

The JONAS network has a capacity of about 20 postdocs per year. Depending on the research topic they are working in the university facilities in France, Germany, or Switzerland. Universities provide an ideal innovation environment with their academic know-how, great flexibility, and their freedom of research. The goal is to drive the development of novel sustainable materials and systems with a key focus on synthesis, mechanistic understanding and enabling technologies in polymer and supramolecular chemistry, biobased feedstock, biodegradable materials, circular materials, new formulation concepts, functional surfaces, biomimetics and biointerfaces and to extend the international research network.  

History shows that this concept is successful: The I.S.I.S. Institute at the University of Strasbourg has successfully collaborated with BASF's polymer research since 2003. More than 100 post-doctoral scientists have used the opportunity to work on recent research topics. A large number of them subsequently began their careers working for BASF.

Jonas Facts_202302.JPG
Rupert Konradi
Rupert Konradi
Head of JONAS
01-MS22_092_JONAS Family Day.jpg

JONAS Family Days 2022

Jean-Marie Lehn, I.S.I.S Strasbourg
Paolo Samori, I.S.I.S Strasbourg
Rolf Mülhaupt, University Freiburg
Jürgen Rühe, University Freiburg
André Studart, ETH Zürich
Ludwig Gauckler, ETH Zürich (emeritus)
Xenia Beyrich-Graf, BASF
Bernhard von Vacano, BASF